IN THE MATTER of the Resource Management Act 1991 (RMA)

AND

IN THE MATTER of a Private Plan Change 81 application for the Dargaville Racecourse by Dargaville Racecourse Inc.

FOURTH DIRECTION OF THE HEARING PANEL

- Pursuant to section 34A of the RMA, Kaipara District Council (the Council) appointed a Hearing Panel consisting of independent hearing commissioners - Mark Farnsworth (Chairperson), Michael Campbell and Jonathan Larsen. The Hearing Panel's function is to hear the application and submissions and make a recommendation on the application.
- 2. The hearing was convened at the Dargaville Lighthouse Museum on 27 March 2023 and adjourned for further information on 28 March 2023.
- 3. The purpose of this Fourth Direction is to provide an update on the further information received by the Council and to provide an indication of the approach panel intends to take going forward.
- 4. On 19 May 2023 the Hearing Administrator, Mr Paul Waanders, forward to the Panel two reports which had been prepared for the Applicant:
 - A recreation Assessment Plan Change 81 Dargaville Racecourse; Independent Expert Assessment 8 May 2023; Peter Burley & David Allan; and
 - Economic Assessment Against the National Policy Statement on Highly productive Land; Fraser Colegrave, Danielle Chaumeil & Nicholas Keith, May 2023.
- 5. Mr Waanders indicated to the Panel that both reports have been uploaded to the Kaipara Website and all parties (Council and submitters) will be informed of its posting with the opportunity to submit comments and views by 2 June 2023 (no later than midday).
- On 2 June 2023 the panel will review all the information placed before it and will determine if the hearing should be reconvened. In the event that the hearing is not reconvened the Applicant will provide written Closing Submissions to the Council's Hearing Administrator no later than midday,
 9 June 2023. and will be placed on the Council's website no later than 5.00 pm the same day.

7. Any enquiries regarding these Directions or related matters should be directed to the Council's District Planner, Mr Paul Waanders by email at <u>pwaanders@kaipara.govt.nz</u>.

Mark Jammer K

Mark C Farnsworth MNZM Chairperson

22 May 2023